2017/2018 Council Election Results

Voting for Engineers and Geoscientists British Columbia’s 2017/2018 Council election opened September 6 and closed at noon on October 6, 2017. Both online and paper ballots were available to members.

The online ballot was conducted using systems contracted from Everyone Counts Inc., which runs under high-security, SSL level, 256-bit encryption with anti-fraud controls and secure login for eligible voters. This third-party system protects the anonymity of a vote. Election results were only made available to Engineers and Geoscientists BC after the close of the election. Paper ballots were provided to members upon request.

Three registered members of the association, John Watson, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), Kathleen Kompauer, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), and Ken Williams, P.Eng., FEC, scrutinized the electronic and paper voting processes. The scrutineers have confirmed the ballot results and that the election was conducted in a confidential, fair, and impartial manner.

This year, 17.4% of registered members and limited licensees returned ballots.

View the Voter Turnout by Branch

Ballot Results


Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
C.J.E. (Caroline) Andrewes, P.Eng. 2806 ELECTED – One year term
D.J. (Donald) Flintoff, P.Eng. 1699 NOT ELECTED

Vice President

Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
K.V. (Katherina) Tarnai-Lokhorst, P.Eng., FEC 2287 ELECTED – One year term
D.I. (David) Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC 2195 NOT ELECTED


Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
C.J. (Catherine) Hickson, P.Geo., FGC 2178 ELECTED – Two year term
T.C. (Tim) Watson, P.Eng. 2117 ELECTED – Two year term
L. (Lianna) Mah, P.Eng., FEC 2103 ELECTED – Two year term
D.W. (Doug) Barry, P.Eng. 1926 ELECTED – Two year term
J.D. (Jeremy) Vincent, P.Geo. 1673 ELECTED – Two year term
R.N. (Nimal) Rajapakse, P.Eng. 1584 ELECTED– One year term
C.R. (Chris) Moser, P.Eng. 1558 NOT ELECTED
C.C.O. (Conor) Reynolds, P.Eng. 1557 NOT ELECTED
A.E. (Albert) Sommerfeld, P.Eng. 1550 NOT ELECTED
K. (Kamran) Tabarraee, P.Eng. 1453 NOT ELECTED
P.J.E. (Paul) Hatton, P.Eng. 1347 NOT ELECTED
M. (Mark) Roozbahani, P.Eng., FEC 1319 NOT ELECTED
As Caroline Andrewes, P.Eng. has been elected for the position of President, the remainder of her term (one-year) on Council will be filled by the candidate receiving the next highest number of votes.
Voter Participation - Council Election  
Total Eligible Voters


Ballots Received (electronic)


Ballots Received (paper)


Percentage Returned 17.4%
Ballots Spoiled 0


  • John Watson, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
  • Kathleen Kompauer, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
  • Ken Williams, P.Eng., FEC

Direct any inquiries to: Deesh Olychick at [email protected].