2018/2019 Council Election and Bylaw Vote Results

Engineers and Geoscientists British Columbia’s 2018/2019 Council election and bylaw vote opened September 5 and closed at noon on October 5, 2018. Both online and paper ballots were available to members.

The online ballot was conducted using systems contracted from Everyone Counts Inc., which runs under high-security, SSL level, 256-bit encryption with anti-fraud controls and secure login for eligible voters. This third-party system protects the anonymity of a vote. Election results were only made available to Engineers and Geoscientists BC after the close of the election. Paper ballots were provided to members upon request.

Three registered members of the association, John Clague, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.), John Watson P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), and Ken Williams, P.Eng., FEC, scrutinized the electronic and paper voting processes. The scrutineers have confirmed the ballot results and that the election was conducted in a confidential, fair, and impartial manner.

This year, 18.23% of registered members and limited licensees returned ballots.

Ballot Results


Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
K.V. (Katherina) Tarnai-Lokhorst, P.Eng., FEC 2,808 Elected – One year term
A.M. (Abdul) Mousa, P.Eng. 2,019 Not elected 

Vice President

Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
H.G. (Harlan) Kelly, P.Eng. 2,595 Elected – One year term
D.I. (David) Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC 2,141 Not elected 


Candidate Number of Votes Received Status
S.K. (Susan) Hayes, P.Eng. 2,470 Elected – Two year term
A.B. (Antigone) Dixon-Warren, P.Geo. 2,428 Elected – Two year term
R.B. (Brock) Nanson, P.Eng. 2,411 Elected – Two year term
K.P. (Kevin) Turner, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) 2,017 Elected – Two year term
L.B. (Larry) Spence, P.Eng. 1,836 Elected – Two year term
M.E. (Martin) Fandrich, P.Eng. 1,773 Not elected 
R.N. (Nimal) Rajapakse, P.Eng. 1,732 Not elected 
A.J. (Andy) Mill, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC 1,716 Not elected
C.R. (Chris) Moser, P.Eng. 1,499 Not elected 
P.B.P. (Philippe) Kruchten, P.Eng., FEC 1,407 Not elected 
D.J. (Donald) Flintoff, P.Eng. 1,381 Not elected 
B.K. (Brent) Lyon, P.Eng. 1,296 Not elected

In accordance with Section 9 (7) of the Act, as a Faculty of Applied Science, Engineering or Geoscience in BC was not elected, one will be appointed by Council for a one—year term.

Amendments To Association Bylaws

Bylaw Package Total For Against Status
Bylaw Package 1:
Bylaw 10(c): Non-Practising Member
Bylaw 10(c.1): Life Membership or Licensure
4,734 3,681 1,053 Passed
Bylaw Package 2:
Bylaw 10(c.2): Honorary Life Membership or Licensure
Bylaw 10(d): Honorary Membership
4,710 3,763 947


Voter Participation - Council Election and Bylaw Vote
Total Eligible Voters 27,121
Ballots Received (electronic) 4,933
Ballots Received (paper) 10
Percentage Returned 18.23%
Paper Ballots Spoiled 0


  • John Clague, P.Geo., FEC (Hon.), FGC
  • John Watson P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
  • Ken Williams, P.Eng., FEC

Direct any inquiries to: Deesh Olychick at [email protected].