Council Summary November 2016

APEGBC's Council of elected members and government representatives meets throughout the year to conduct the business of association governance. The following are the highlights of the November 25, 2016 meeting.

Motions from the 2016 AGM

Council considered the three motions from the floor of the Annual General Meeting in Victoria, on October 22, 2016, which were debated and carried by the membership.

Motion 1: That Council consider developing a proactive guideline that will require all members to take into consideration options to achieve net zero emissions in their professional practice.

The Climate Change Advisory Group will provide a report to Council at their April 2017 meeting to confirm what current activities are being undertaken related to guideline development in this area. This report will also include the committee’s advice in regards to any additional considerations relating to this motion.

Motion 2: That Council consider reporting the results of membership voting by branch, which then would be aggregated to the total returns.

Council has referred the motion to the Director of Member Services to provide an analysis of what information is possible to obtain. At the February 2017 meeting, Council will receive a report with recommendations on this item.

Motion 3: That, in the interest of improved openness and transparency with the membership and the public, Council consider implementing a policy of publishing, both in Innovation and by broadcasting to the membership by email, any received written request signed by 25 members [pursuant to section 12(7) of the Engineers and Geoscientists Act] at the earliest possible opportunity.

Council has referred this motion to the Executive Committee to review. They will conduct a fulsome analysis of the pros and cons of publication which will be presented to Council at their February 2017 meeting. Read more>

2017/2018 Budget Guidelines Approved

Council approved guidelines for the creation of APEGBC’s 2017/2018 budget. This budget will be the first in a 3 year budgeting cycle that aligns with the 2017–2020 Strategic Plan. The budget guidelines emphasize APEGBC’s commitment to sustainable financial management and the intent to strive for no more than a 2% increase of the annual professional   member fee between 2018–2020. Read more>

Revisions Approved to the APEGBC Professional Practice Guidelines – Legislative Dam Safety Reviews in BC

Council has approved revisions to the APEGBC Professional Practice Guidelines – Legislated Dam Safety Review in BC for final editorial and legal review prior to publication. These revisions stem from recommendations APEGBC received from the Chief Inspector of Mines Report and Auditor General’s Report on the Mount Polley dam breach. The updated guidelines will include clarification on the Engineer of Record, and their role in regards to dam safety. Read more>

Task Force to Review APEGBC Election and Nomination Processes

Council has approved the creation of a new task force to review APEGBC’s nomination and election processes as well as the associated Bylaw 3 from the Engineers and Geoscientists Act. This task force would review Council experience requirements for presidential and vice presidential candidates, as well as reviewing the election process used by other engineering and geoscience regulatory bodies in Canada. APEGBC staff will create terms of reference for this task force, to be approved by Council. Read more>

Renewed Memorandum of Agreement with Iranian Engineers of British Columbia (IEBCA)

Council has renewed APEGBC’s Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Iranian Engineers of British Columbia (IEBCA). APEGBC supports IEBCA’s objectives and the MOA provides a direct linkage between both organizations to collaborate in areas of mutual interest. Read more>

Investigation and Discipline Committee Update

Council received a report from the Investigation and Discipline committees on their progress in the current fiscal year. Between July 1, 2016 to October 31, 2016 APEGBC opened 21 investigation files and is currently conducting one investigation for the Registration Committee. Read more>

Presentation to the Federal Expert Panel Reviewing the Canadian Environmental Assessment Processes

APEGBC will deliver a presentation in December to the Federal Expert Panel reviewing Environmental Assessment Processes. The association has previously provided feedback on the draft Terms of Reference established by the Expert Panel. It’s anticipated that feedback from a professional association’s perspective will assist the Expert Panel in making recommendations which will improve the Environmental Assessment Process’ ability to make assessments in the public interest which are based on scientific facts and evidence. Read more>

Volunteer Appointments Approved

Council approved the following appointments to APEGBC committees, boards and task forces.

Advisory Task Force on Corporate Practice

Catherine Fritter, P.Eng.
Mike Currie, P.Eng.
Dr. Michael Davies, P.Eng., P.Geo.
Kathleen Groves, P.Eng.
Susan Craig, P.Geo.
K. Adrian Gygax, P.Eng., Struct.Eng.
David Chwaklinski, P.Eng.
Patricia S.M. Chong, P.Eng.
Colin Smith, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
Dirk Nyland, P.Eng.
Andrew J. Mill, P.Eng., Struct.Eng.
David Melville, P.Geo.
Greg S.A. Scott, P.Eng.
Eduards Miska, P.Eng.
Scott J. Martin, P.Eng.
Julius Pataky, P.Eng.
Selena R. Wilson, P.Eng.
John V. Turner, P.Ag. (ret.)

APEGBC Editorial Board

Elizabeth Brown, P.Eng.
Julio Bracho, P.Eng.
Roger Ord, P.Eng.

Building Codes Committee

Mark Dendy Lawton, P.Eng., FEC
John Wesley Lim, P.Eng.

Board of Examiners

Martin Ernesto Bollo, P.Eng.
Taco Anton Niet, P.Eng.

Consulting Practice Committee

Ivan Wan Fung Lee, P.Eng.
Randall Robert Hillaby, P.Eng.

Discipline Committee

Chris Arthur, P.Eng.
Jaswinder Bansal, P.Eng.
Frank Denton, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
John Haythorne, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
Colin Smith, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)

Geoscience Committee

Delbert Ferguson, P.Geo., Eng.L.

Investigation Committee

Andrew Mill, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC
Mehrdad Roozbahani, P.Eng., FEC
Gregory Smith, P.Eng., Struct.Eng.
Clint Low, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC
Jeffrey Corbett, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC
Lindsay Bottomer, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)

Nominating Committee

Dr. John Clague, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.).
Emily Cheung, P.Eng., FEC
Frank Denton, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
Nathan Ozog, P.Eng.
Tim Smith, P.Geo., Eng.L.

Practice Review Committee

Alexander McGowan, P.Eng.
Randall Kovacs, P.Eng., FEC
Antonio J. Melo, P.Eng., FEC
Ken Newbert, P.Eng.
Charlotte-Ann Huffman, P.Eng., FEC

Professional Practice Committee

Karen Savage, P.Eng., FEC

Registration Committee

Shiloh Carlson, P.Eng.
Dr. Martin Edward Fandrich, P.Eng.
David Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC

Standing Awards Committee

David Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC
Sabina Kathleen Russell, P.Eng.