Transitional Requirements Under the Professional Governance Act

The Professional Governance Act has introduced broad changes to the processes governing Council nomination, election, and composition, including:

  • A merit-based nomination procedure;
  • Reduction in the number of Councillors from 17 to 12;
  • Increase in term lengths from 2 years to 3 years for Councillors; and
  • Set term limits of 6 years in 1 position, and 12 years in total.

Due to the timing of the Professional Governance Act coming into force, the 2020/2021 Council year was considered a transition year, with the 2021 election being the first to be fully compliant with the new Act. For the 2021/2022 Council year, the Council size will be reduced to 12.

Maintaining continuity on Council is a fundamental governance principle for a complex organization such as Engineers and Geoscientists BC. To ensure continuity was maintained during the transition to new requirements under the Professional Governance Act, Council's transition plan ensured a balance of new and returning Councillors.

In order to ensure continuity of Council, the terms in 2020 were adjusted for the five incoming Councillors, based on the number of votes received. This introduced an appropriate staggering, allowing 1/3 of the Councillor positions to be elected each year thereafter.

Vice President Selection

Beginning with the 2021/2022 Council term, the method for selecting the Vice President will change; Council will appoint one of its elected members to serve as Vice President each year. This will enable Council to select a Vice President who can best meet the needs of the Council in any given year, and will be an important part of maintaining continuity as we fully transition to the Professional Governance Act. This model will also increase the number of Councillor positions available each year by one seat.

This approach is considered governance best practice, and is well-established in similar organizations, including the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC, College of Dental Surgeons of BC, BC College of Nurses and Midwives, Architectural Institute of British Columbia, Chartered Professional Accountants of BC and the College of Veterinarians of BC.

↰ Back to Main Election Page