2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients

The Engineers and Geoscientists BC Foundation celebrates its scholarship recipients. In the 2018-2019 school year, the Foundation awarded $51,750 to 33 deserving engineering and geoscience students.

Recipient profiles can be found by clicking the student’s name, where available.

Entrance and Transfer Scholarships

The Engineers and Geoscientists BC Foundation offers several entry scholarships to British Columbia high school graduates entering engineering or Earth science degree or transfer programs at BC universities and colleges. The entry scholarships are awarded based on a combination of factors, including academic standing, extracurricular activities, financial need, and a student statement.

  • Michael Dowhaniuk, UBC
  • Lesley Hill, UBC
  • Julienne Landas, BCIT

Student Member Scholarships

The Student Member Scholarships are available to registered Student Members, and they recognize undergraduate students whose volunteer, employment, or personal actions over the past year have enhanced the image of the engineering or geoscience professions. The scholarships, valued at $1,500 each, are awarded based on a combination of factors including a student statement, a reference letter, and advancement of the professions.

  • Ilija Hristovski, UBC Okanagan
  • Rebecca Howes, UBC
  • Paramon Koutorjevski, UNBC
  • Robert Lee, UVic
  • Colin Noort, BCIT
  • Anna Vu, UNBC

BC Hydro/Engineers and Geoscientists BC Scholarships

With the future of engineering and geoscience students in mind, BC Hydro and Engineers and Geoscientists BC have united efforts to develop this scholarship program. These scholarships focus on encouraging students to continue their goal of becoming professional engineers or geoscientists. The scholarships, valued at $1,500 each, are available to second-year engineering and geoscience students. Scholarship selection is based on academic standing, professional or community involvement, a written statement, and the student's resume.

  • David Ross Charette, UBC Okanagan
  • Shawn Liu, SFU
  • Simonne Mikolay, UNBC
  • Vivian Mo, UBC
  • Colin Noort, BCIT
  • Kathryn Rieb, UVic
  • Maxime Therrien, UBC
  • Haley Waldhaus, UVic
  • Rachel Wong, UBC

Frank Baumann Bursary

The Foundation is pleased to offer the Frank Baumann Bursary, valued at $1,500, to a third or fourth-year student enrolled in an engineering or geoscience program who is pursuing studies in the area of geohazards. The recipient is selected based on academic standing, community involvement, extracurricular activities, a student statement, and financial need.

  • Reid Martin, UBC Okanagan

Sheri Plewes Scholarship for Women in Engineering

The Foundation offers the Sheri Plewes Scholarship, valued at $2,000, to a woman in full-time undergraduate engineering studies. Recipients are selected based on academic standing, interpersonal skills and social awareness, and leadership potential.

  • Aaryn Sahlen, UBC

Okanagan Branch Scholarships

Engineers and Geoscientists BC's Okanagan Branch has established three scholarships to support fourth-year students in engineering and geoscience at UBC Okanagan. These scholarships, valued at $750 each, are adjudicated based on academic excellence, extracurricular activities, financial need and a student statement.

  • Ameeta Bhabra, UBC Okanagan
  • Cameron McDermid, UBC Okanagan
  • Terry Zhang, UBC Okanagan

Victoria Branch Talbot Award Scholarships

Engineers and Geoscientists BC's Victoria Branch established two scholarships to support third- and fourth-year engineering students at the University of Victoria. Two scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, are awarded based on a combination of factors including academic achievement, community activities, and a student statement.

  • Delaney Haugan, UVic
  • Robert Lee, UVic
Engineers and Geoscientists BC Member Handbook
Log onto your account to view your personal profile, update information, or make a payment.
Report or track your professional development hours.
Purchase books and webinars.
View our career listings or place an employment ad.
Search the directories for information about Engineers and Geoscientists BC members.
See the various opportunities to volunteer with Engineers and Geoscientists BC and in your community.
View the library of available publications, guidelines, and other documents.