MINUTES OF THE OPEN SESSION OF THE FIRST MEETING OF THE 2014/2015 COUNCIL of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia, <u>held on OCTOBER 25, 2014 in the PRINCE OF WALES ROOM, HYATT REGENCY HOTEL,</u> <u>VANCOUVER, BC</u>

Present

Council		
	Dr. John Clague, P.Geo., FGC	President (Chair) (2014/2015)
	Dr. Mike Wrinch, P.Eng., FEC	Vice President (2014/2015)
	Michael Bapty, P.Eng., FEC	Past President (2014/2015)
	Herb Hawson, P.Eng., FEC	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Kathy Tarnai-Lokhorst P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	David Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Harlan Kelly, P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Ken Laloge, CPA, CA, TEP	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Dr. Sheila Wynn	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Ana Fernandes, CIM, FCSI	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Donna Howes, P.Eng., FEC	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Tajdin Mitha, LLB	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Caroline Andrewes, P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Dr. Lyn Anglin, P.Geo.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Dan Campbell, P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Carol Park, P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Bob Stewart, P.Eng.	Councillor (2014/2015)
	Arnold Badke, P.Eng.	Councillor (2013/2014)
	Shiloh Carlson, P.Eng.	Councillor (2013/2014)
	Garth Kirkham, P.Geo., FGC	Councillor (2013/2014)
	Andy Mill, P.Eng./Struct.Eng., FEC	Councillor (2013/2014)
	Karen Savage, P.Eng., FEC	Councillor (2013/2014)
	Mike Waberski, BCLS	Councillor (2013/2014)
Guests		
	Russ Kinghorn, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)	APEGBC Director to Engineers Canada
Staff		
	Ann English, P.Eng.	Chief Executive Officer & Registrar
	Tony Chong, P.Eng.	Chief Regulatory Officer & Deputy Registrar
	Janet Sinclair, FEC (Hon.), FGC (Hon.)	Chief Operating Officer
	Jennifer Cho, CGA	Director - Finance & Administration
	Gillian Pichler, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)	Director - Registration
	Melinda Lau	Publications Specialist - Communications
	Don Gamble	Director - Information Systems
	Efrem Swartz	Director - Legislation, Ethics & Compliance
	Peter Mitchell	Director – Professional Practice, Standards &
	Megan Archibald	Development Director – Communications & Stakeholders Engagement

Kim Westlake	Manager – Human Resources
Vince Lai	Associate Director – Finance & Administration
Deesh Olychick	Director – Member Services
Gilbert Larocque	Associate Director – Professional Practice & Ethics
Sarah Wray	Executive Assistant to Council

Regrets

Michael Isaacson P.Eng. PhD FEC Past President (2013/2014) FGC (Hon.)

OPEN SESSION – CALL TO ORDER

Dr. John Clague, President and Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:58 pm.

CO-15-01	PRESIDENT'S REMARKS
	Dr. John Clague, President and Chair, opened the meeting with a short introduction and his hopes for the coming Council year.
Co-15-02	ROUNDTABLE SELF-INTRODUCTIONS OF COUNCIL AND STAFF
	The Chair led a roundtable of Council, staff and guest self-introductions.
CO-15-03	SIGNING OF THE OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE
	The 2014/2015 Council signed the Oath or Affirmation of Office in the presence of the past Councillors and staff.
CO-15-04	OPEN REGULAR AGENDA
MOTION	It was moved and seconded that the Inaugural Council Open meeting agenda be approved as circulated CARRIED
CO-15-05	APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES
MOTION	It was moved and seconded that Council approve the appointments to committees as circulated.
	CARRIED
CO-15-06	CARRIED NOTE OF APPRECIATION TO STAFF
CO-15-06 MOTION	

CEO & Registrar Report

END OF OPEN SESSION

The Open Session ended at 3:46 pm.

OPEN SESSION – CONTINUED

Dr. John Clague, President and Chair, called the continued Open Session meeting to order at 4:26 pm.

CO-15-11 APPROVAL OF COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEE

MOTION It was moved and seconded that Council approves the appointments to Council committees as circulated and as amended.

The list of appointments is as follows:

Executive Committee Membership: President, Past President, Vice President, and two Councillors (one a government appointee)

	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date
John Clague, P.Geo., FGC, President	Mandated	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 2016 (PP)
Michael Wrinch, P.Eng., FEC, Vice President	Mandated	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Mike Bapty, P.Eng., FEC, Past President	Mandated	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Ana Fernandes, CIM, FCSI – member-at-large,	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
government appointee			
David Harvey, P.Eng. Struct.Eng., FEC – member-	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
at-large			

Governance Committee Membership: Immediate Past President and up to five other Councillors (Chair is appointed by Council upon recommendation of the Committee)

	/		
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date
Mike Bapty, P.Eng., FEC, Past President	Mandated	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 2016 (PP)
Harlan Kelly, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Michael Wrinch, P.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Tajdin Mitha, LLB	1 year	Oct 31, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Kathy Tarnai-Lokhorst, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Caroline Andrewes, P.Eng.	1 year	2014, Oct 25	Oct 17, 2015

Audit Committee

Membership: Five Councillors including at least two government appointees and the remainder not on the Executive Committee

	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date
Ken Laloge, CPA, CA, TEP	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Sheila Wynn, PhD	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Kathy Tarnai-Lokhorst, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Dan Campbell, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Caroline Andrewes, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015

Registration Committee

Membership: Five Councillors with one serving as Chair (Council designates the Chair)				
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date	
Bob Stewart, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	
Sheila Wynn, PhD	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	
David Harvey, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	
Herb Hawson, P.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	
Harlan Kelly, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	

Geoscience Committee Membership: Two Councillors (Chai Committee)	r is appointed by Counci	l upon recommenda	ation of the
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date
Lyn Anglin, P.Geo., PhD	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Dan Campbell, P.Eng.	1 vear	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015

Professional Practice Committee Membership: At least two Councillors (Council designates the Chair)					
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date		
Bob Stewart, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		
Ken Laloge, CPA, CA, TEP	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		
Harlan Kelly, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		

Nominating Committee Membership: Immediate Past President (Chair is the Immediate Past President)				
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date	
Mike Bapty, P.Eng., FEC	Mandated	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015	

Climate Change Advisory Group Membership: One Councillor (Chair is appointed by Council but does not need to be a Councillor)					
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date		
Herb Hawson, P.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		

Foundation Nominating Committee Membership: Three Councillors (Chair is appointed by the Committee but Chair must be, and remain, a member of current Council)					
	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date		
Lyn Anglin, P.Geo., PhD	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		
Donna Howes, P.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		
Ken Laloge, CPA, CA, TEP	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015		

ASTTBC/APEGBC Joint Board Membership: Council to appoint three members including one member of Council (the current Council members will be Co-Chairs)

	Term	Start Date	Expiry Date
Andy Mill, P.Eng., Struct.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Donna Howes, P.Eng., FEC	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015
Carol Park, P.Eng.	1 year	Oct 25, 2014	Oct 17, 2015

END OF OPEN SESSION

The Open Session ended at 4:55 pm.