2020 Council Election Results

Posted on October 2, 2020

Engineers and Geoscientists British Columbia’s 2020 Council election opened on August 31, 2020, and closed at noon on October 2, 2020. This year, 15.5% of registered members and limited licensees returned ballots. The results of the election are as follows:

Candidate Position Term
L.B. (Larry) Spence, P.Eng. President 1-year term
C.L. (Carol) Park, P.Eng. Vice President 1-year term
M. (Michelle) Mahovlich, P.Eng./P.Geo. Councillor 3-year term
J.L. (Jessica) Steeves, P.Eng. Councillor 3-year term
K.P. (Kevin) Turner, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) Councillor 2-year term
 B.C. (Brent) Ward, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.) Councillor 2-year term
T.M. (Tomer) Curiel, P.Eng., FEC Councillor 1-year term

Immediate Past President (1-year term)
Lianna Mah, P.Eng., FEC will continue for one year in the role of Immediate Past President.

Returning Councillors (for the second year of their 2-year term)

Mark Adams, P.Eng.
Christine Lambert, P.Geo.
Nathan Ozog, P.Eng., FEC
Tom Tiedje, P.Eng.
Jeremy Vincent, P.Geo.

Government Appointees

Alan Andison, BA, LLB*
Suky Cheema, CPA, CA
Leslie Hildebrandt, ICD.D, LLB
David Wells, JD

*until December 2020

To support appropriate staggering of terms as we transition from the current Council size to new requirements under the Professional Governance Act, term lengths for the five elected Councillors elected are determined by the number of votes received. These term lengths will be adjusted once the new legislation comes into force. Learn more about transitional requirements.

The online ballot was conducted using systems contracted from Simply Voting Inc., which operates under high-security, TLS 1.2, 256-bit encryption with anti-fraud controls and secure login for eligible voters. This third-party system protects the anonymity of a vote. Election results were not available to Engineers and Geoscientists BC until after the close of the election. All ballots were received electronically.

Three registered members of the association, Kathleen Kompauer, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), Margaret Li, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.), and John Watson, FEC, FGC (Hon.) scrutinized the voting processes. The scrutineers have confirmed the ballot results and that the election was conducted in a confidential, fair, and impartial manner.

For more information, visit egbc.ca/council-election-results.

Photo: Mike Crane Photography

View the latest issue of Engineers and Geoscientists BC's official magazine, as well as archived editions.
For ads in Innovation Magazine, please contact Gillian Cobban at [email protected] or 604.929.6733.
View our career listings or place an employment ad.