APEGBC Recognizes Contributions and Achievements with 2016 Awards

Posted on 01 November 2016

Every year, APEGBC recognizes members and engineering and geoscience organizations for their contributions to the association and its goals with a series of awards and honours. At the 2016 Annual Conference, the following awards were announced:


President's Awards


Eight members were recognized for outstanding service and contributions to the professions and the community.

APEGBC Sustainability Award


This award recognizes a project that exhibits sustainable practices and exemplifies the APEGBC Sustainability Guidelines. The Vancity Heat Recovery project received the 2016 APEGBC Sustainability Award. 

APEGBC Environmental Award


The APEGBC Environmental Award recognizes APEGBC members and their firms for outstanding contributions towards environmental protection, environmental enhancement, and/or sustainable development. The winner of the 2016 APEGBC Environmental Award is the Sechelt Water Resource Centre

Mentor of the Year Award


The APEGBC Mentoring Committee recognises an outstanding mentor in the APEGBC mentoring program. This year, Nick Hawley, P.Eng., received this award for demonstrating excellence in leadership and support of future professional engineers and showing dedication and commitment throughout his mentoring relationship. 

Editorial Board Award


The association’s journal, Innovation, relies on the contributions of members from all disciplines to help enrich each other’s knowledge of engineering and geoscience. Dr. Iain Weir-Jones, P.Eng., and Dr. Anton Zaicenco, P.Eng., received the association’s 2016 Editorial Board Award for an article they wrote for the March/April 2016 issue of Innovation, entitled, “Earthquake Early Warning Systems: Technology Detects. Analyses and Acts of Seismic Signals.” 

Honourary Memberships

APEGBC’s Council may confer honorary membership in APEGBC to an individual who, while not a member of our association, has made significant and sustained contributions to engineering and geoscience.  This year, Council recognized the following individuals: 

Honourary-Mem-Peter-Busby-MAIBC-small.jpg Peter Busby, MAIBC, for his numerous valuable contributions to the engineering profession and his continual emphasis of the importance of collaboration between architects and engineering consultants.
Honourary-Mem-Robert-W-Hunter-LLB-small.jpg Robert W. Hunter, LLB, for his 34 years of dedicated service in providing legal counsel and guidance to APEGBC, its presidents, Councils, CEO and staff, and to the Discipline Committee.
Email: info@egbc.ca
Phone: 604.430.8035
Toll-free: 1.888.430.8035
View the latest issue of Engineers and Geoscientists BC's official magazine, as well as archived editions.
For ads in Innovation Magazine, please contact Gillian Cobban at advertising@egbc.ca or 604.929.6733.
See the latest engineering and geoscience industry information.

View our career listings or place an employment ad.

See the various opportunities to volunteer with Engineers and Geoscientists BC and in your community.
Learn how to support the APEGBC Benevolent Fund Society and the APEG Foundation.